What Shall I Do If I Never Have Another Hit Record?

Book: Skagboys

Author: Irvine Welsh

Music: What Shall I Do?

Artist: Frankie and the Classicals

It’s clear that my knowledge of Northern Soul is tragic since this is my hat-trick of songs I never heard before. There’s a slight whiff of Alvin and the Chipmunks meets ABC-era Michael Jackson about this one. When I was reading about the song and the band (Frankie seems to be a woman in this instance) there appears to be nothing else from the band but this song. A one-hit wonder? I was reminded of a slot on RTE Radio 2 back in the early 80s – I think it was on Marty Whelan’s nighttime show – called ‘One-Hit Wonders from the Wilderness of Rock and Roll.’ Having had a very successful record, it must be a very unpleasant realization when you don’t follow it up with another. And it can’t be immediate. Two, maybe three records later, it must become obvious. Harsh. And then you have some DJ or radio producer dancing on the grave of your commercial music career. Harsh.


Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

