How Did I Get Here?

Book: Black Swan Green

Author: David Mitchell

Music: Once in a Lifetime

Composer/Artist: Talking Heads

 Once in a Lifetime is my favorite Talking Heads tune. Not a great achievement when, as I’ve admitted before I’m not their biggest fan. I do really like David Byrne as a guy, though. And I’m sure that makes him feel a lot better about himself. I mentioned in a previous post that I was going to see him in Brooklyn recently. A wild and unexpectedly wonderful show in which he commissioned some of the most interesting artists working in the the indie and new music worlds to write some pieces to which color guard teams would perform their routines. I was completely unaware of the activity but it’s a very American thing to do in high school. I only went for the music – Byrne, Nico Muhly, Victoire, Lucius, etc. but came away with great respect for the kids, parents, and schools who work with the the students on their routines. And even more respect for Byrne for giving a shit. Anyway, this is just a great song. 


Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

