Painful Nostalgia

Book: Black Swan Green

Author: David Mitchell

Music: Waterloo

Composer/Artist: Abba

One summer when I was a kid a funfair set up for a week or so in a field directly across from our house, but on another road parallel to ours. It was probably a modest affair since it was a small field. I could hear the music drifting across the couple of boggy fields between my home and the funfair (they’ve since built a road and a large Tesco shop on those sodden patches of ground). Abba’s Dancing Queen was playing so that dates it somewhere around ’76 or ’77 – my father was still alive so no later. I wanted so badly to go over to the fair. But I was too shy. So I stayed home.


Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

