Who you gonna call?

Book: How I Shed My Skin: Unlearning the Racist Lessons of a Southern Childhood

Author: Jim Grimsley

Music: Band of Gold

Composer/Artist: Freda Payne

I go through life listening to songs I never know the title of. Not just songs I hear once or twice or an obscure track on the radio but favourite songs I’ve heard a thousand times on favourite albums I’ve had for years. When I noted – while reading the book – the name of this song for later inclusion on this blog I had it down as one of those I’d never heard. Ditto Freda Payne. Then I played it and grinned from ear to ear – I’ve known and liked it for decades! I never really listened to the lyrics but having read about it tonight I find that this soul song takes a very country music topic and ‘souls’ it up! Separate rooms on yer honeymoon, indeed!

This fantastic bit of trivia adds to my delight – one of the guitarists on this track is Ray ‘Ghostbusters’ Parker, Jr.!


Link to streaming audio: Freda Payne (Spotify)

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Who you gonna call?

  1. […] that I would listen to the ones I had over and over again until I actually knew all the songs. Didn’t necessarily know the names of the songs but I could sing along with every […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

