Needles, threads, and cheatin’

Book: How I Shed My Skin: Unlearning the Racist Lessons of a Southern Childhood

Author: Jim Grimsley

Music: Silver Threads and Golden Needles

Composer/Artist: Wanda Jackson

Although I know plenty of country music (see my previous couple of posts) Wanda Jackson’s pretty much an unknown for me. This is a very TWANGY country song, dare I say it, hillbilly. A song I’d never heard before but a song so typically miserably country I feel like I’ve heard it a hundred times – a dirty stinkin’ cheatin’ husband who thinks by providing handsomely for the little woman he has free license to sample forbidden fruit.


Link to streaming audio: Wanda Jackson (Spotify)

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

