I hear the song a comin’

Book: How I Shed My Skin: Unlearning the Racist Lessons of a Southern Childhood

Author: Jim Grimsley

Music: Folsom Prison Blues

Composer/Artist: Johnny Cash

If you read yesterday’s post you’ll know that my appreciation of country music was severely impeded for most of my teenage years by Paschal Mooney’s Keep it Country. My distaste for the genre included, heretically, no great love for the almighty Johnny Cash. I’m sorry. I didn’t know any better. Paschal’s efforts meant that characters spanning the entire genre were unfairly and unfailingly tarred with the same brush until such time that, released from years of involuntary listening, I would make up my own mind.

‘I shot a man in Reno, just to watch him die’ – song lines don’t come much better than that. Let’s face it, I was an idiot but it was all Paschal Mooney’s fault.

The good news is that when I did realize that I no longer disliked country music my long and enforced exposure to it during the late 70s and early 80s meant that I knew the words to hundreds of country classics – I was an instant expert!

I hear the train a comin’ …


Link to streaming audio: Johnny Cash (Spotify)

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

