Not *that* Divorce Song

Book: How I Shed My Skin: Unlearning the Racist Lessons of a Southern Childhood

Author: Jim Grimsley

Music: I Hope My Divorce Is Never Granted

Composer/Artist: Kitty Wells

It’s 1979, the end of a depressingly awful decade in Ireland. In an effort to get with the times and retain – or regain – the mainly young audience being lost to the pirate radio stations around the country RTÉ, Ireland’s national broadcaster, launched RTÉ Radio 2 (in a cute bit of intra-blog synchronicity, the earlier featured Boomtown RatsLike Clockwork was the first record played). Radio 2 had two hours of Country and Western and Country and Irish (its own genre, believe it or not) every night -Paschal Mooney’s Keep it Country. That might sound odd if you’re trying to capture a young audience but back then (and even now) Ireland had a gigantic country music audience. Jesus I fucking hated that show. Two of my brothers were big fans so if I was in the house – and obviously as a young teen I was in the house a lot between the hours of 8 and 10 PM on weekdays – I was subjected to a lot of country music. Consequently I developed a strong dislike of the genre. This was obviously a big (if understandable) mistake and when I grew up a bit and discovered country music – especially American country from the 50s, 60s, and 70s – on my own terms I came to appreciate it and like it (if never truly love it – thanks Aidan and Phelim!).

Anyway, this Kitty Wells song is just brilliant and a far cry emotionally from the more famous D-I-V-O-R-C-E that came later from Tammy Wynette.

Radio 2 Comin’atcha …


Link to streaming audio: Kitty Wells (Spotify)

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

